About Johnston

The City of Johnston was incorporated in 1969 and has a mayor/city council form of government. The mayor is elected at-large to a two-year term and five city council members are elected at-large to four-year, staggered terms. Mayor Paula Dierenfeld has served on the council or as mayor since 1999. Mayor Dierenfeld is on her sixth term as mayor. 

The city council meets on the first and third Mondays of each month. Work sessions are scheduled for 6 p.m. and regular meetings are scheduled for 7 p.m. Click here to view the meeting agendas and minutes. 

City Council meetings are held at City Hall, located at 6221 Merle Hay Road. Staff is available Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. until 5 p.m., to assist with administrative functions of the city. 

Contact city staff with questions regarding City Council, official records, trash and recycling, employment matters, city budget, liquor license, business permits and utility billing. The direct number is 515-278-2344.

City Communications
Want to learn more about Johnston as things happen? The most current information on city happenings and wonderful city gems can be found right here on our website and on social media. 

The links below are our social media accounts.
Library Library

To sign up for our weekly and monthly electronic newsletter, click here. The weekly newsletter is a brief overview of the important things happening in Johnston and is delivered to your inbox every Thursday. The monthly newsletter is sent electronically the first of each month and is printed in Johnston Living Magazine.